//
you're reading...
new york living, thoughts and reflections

End of Summer Blues

It’s the end of the summer, guys. I know, I know. I’ve been putting it off in my mind for the last three months too. But there are some serious pluses to summer being over. Don’t believe me? Well let’s see here…The weather is going to drastically cool down. So there’s that. That’s all I can think of. But look, fall food is really good. Squash, for one thing. And hot chocolate. The first few weeks of snow is pretty great, but when it’s still fun to play in and not completely irritating. And not that you don’t already do this now, but fall is perfect weather to stay in all day and watch movies with your dog. Did I say you? I meant me. Sure, this is the start of the season when everyone goes back to their offices and their desks and their schools. But that’s exactly what it is, it’s a start. Something new. That’s usually a good thing. New opportunities, new faces. We should all be very excited. So yeah, maybe it will get disgustingly, achingly, cold outside, and most of you will start to have homework again but I’m TRYING to look on the bright side here. I never really get a summer break…as I’m always sort of working. I mean, obviously thinking of ideas and then writing them down is a pretty great job. So this transition is never really as tough for me. I’m still pining for it though–that time of year when everyone is all relaxed, and hanging out, and of course, BBQing every weekend…Ahhh to BBQ. That’s probably what I’ll miss the most. Plus, it’ll be really difficult to walk Cooper in the snow.

Discussion

One thought on “End of Summer Blues

  1. I would be excited for the end of summer, except here in California it’s still in the triple digits and will likely stay that way until mid-October. (Which is my favorite month in this state. Takes on this autumn-y scent and it’s just so *pretty.*) Also…no snow here. I miss snow. Sometimes. Except the digging-out-my-car part.

    Posted by Kelley York | August 24, 2011, 3:48 pm

Leave a Reply

